Rainbow Nannies has prepared the following checklist to help identify your needs, which will allow us to refer the best and most suitable Newborn Care Specialist and/or Nanny for your Family.
Some questions are not applicable for a Newborn Care Specialist request – you can leave these questions blank or click on N/A
California Nanny Labor Laws:
- A Nanny is always a household employee
- A Nanny is compensated for holiday pay (New Year, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving’s Day and Christmas)
- California labor law does not allow a Nanny to be paid a fixed salary. Every Nanny should be paid hourly!
- California labor law determined that a Nanny should be paid 1,5 times the regular rate (time-and-a-half) for all hours worked over 9 daily or 40 weekly.
- A Nanny is entitled paid sick time, up to 24 hours. These paid sick times provisions are valid in California, but several cities have additional laws that slightly alter the state law.
- If a Nanny is required to drive her own vehicle during work hours, she is entitled to receive the federal mileage reimbursement of 56 ct per mile.
- A Nanny’s pay day should never be delayed.
- Just like any other profession, a Nanny should be paid 52 weeks a year, even if you go on a vacation.
- If you require the Nanny to drive with your child/children, a car seat should be provided. Best and safest is to install any carseat by a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technicians (CPST)